My bedtime ritual

Bedtime ritual
 
 
There was a time where bed was just a place I hung out for 7 or 8 hours a day. Clothes were all over the floor and books littered my room. No wonder I put off going to bed  for so long. But now I love bed time. I spritz my sheets with lavender linen mist and tuck myself in with a cup of hot mint tea. Next it’s time to moisturize – hands, lips – and I’m all set to read. Right now Shelter for the Spirit is on my nightstand – a book about how to appreciate your home. I wonder if I’d have this ritual if I was sharing my bed with someone. Maybe I’d have a different ritual. And maybe that would be just as lovely. But I’m oh so happy with my own ritual now and I’m going to thoroughly enjoy it as long as it lasts – be it a year or 10. What is your bedtime ritual?
5 thoughts on “My bedtime ritual

  1. Thank you for reminding me how important bedtime rituals are. They fill up that part of the soul that has been drained away from all the silly daily routines. Think I’ll take more time this evening. And it just so happens that one of the most special people in my life gave me ‘Shelter for the Spirit’ for Mother’s day, it’s sitting by my bedside waiting…good night.

  2. Here’s mine: be in bed at 10 p.m. Write in journal (mine or Margot’s). Apply hand cream. Read. Fall asleep.
    I like the idea of smell, so I might mist my bedroom with calming scents.
    Do you really drink tea in bed? I love it!
    Sweet dreams. xox

Leave a Reply

