A Gentleman in the Night

“How safe is your neighbourhood at night?” my sister asked tonight on the phone. “Oh pretty good. It’s better in the summer and winter though. Fall is pretty dark.” It’s true. There’s something about a walk on a fall evening that’s a teeny bit eerie.  The sun sets earlier. The clocks haven’t yet changed. There’s no bright white snow to illuminate your path. It’s enough to put a girl a little on edge.  I got off the phone with my sister and took Libby for a walk. It was 9 o’clock and Libby was oblivious to the dark streets. But I wasn’t.  I turned a corner and saw a man in the distance. A big guy. And I’m sad to say that I was a little nervous to meet him on the sidewalk. But then he did the most wonderful thing. He crossed the street. He had no reason to cross the street. But he did it. And I knew it was for me – to put me at ease. I wanted to thank him for it, but it’s one of those things that men and women never talk about. That doesn’t mean, however, that it goes unappreciated. To all the gentlemen of the night, thank you. That gesture means as much as opening a door or pulling out a chair. Maybe more.

{image via Pinterest}

Leave a Reply

