Happy Birthday, Althea

My niece, Althea, was born into this world in the most lovely way. My sister, Rebecca,  hummed her way through early labour in the backyard, asked what her doula bought at Home Depot while chomping on ice chips, and clung on to her fiancee for strength during tough contractions and five hours of pushing. I was honoured she wanted me in the room with her. And it was by far the most amazing experience I’ve ever been a part of (albeit as a spectator giving leg rubs). And then suddenly (although I’m sure it didn’t feel like it to Bec), Althea had arrived! All the love in that room must have made an impact on little Al, because she quite simply was born a gentle-hearted soul.

Althea turns one today. It’s been awesome to watch her grow. Every new skill she’s acquired shocks me. I remember the first time she held a rattle and kept thinking, “How in the heck are you so talented, kid!?” They learn so much in such a short period of time! I’ve loved every moment I’ve spent with my favourite Taurus. From her wild red hair to her old lady laugh, I love every bit of that kid. Happy birthday, beautiful!

IMAGE: LAURA L. BENN

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Althea

  1. I realize this is woefully late, but just wanted to chime in and thank you for this beautiful post about your lovely and oh-so-heartbreakingly-adorable niece! I wish her a second year full of as much wonder, growth, and love as the first one… and many more after that. ❤

Leave a Reply

