What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?

I know. It’s November freakin’ 2nd. And I’m already thinking about New Year’s Eve. For a single girl, New Year’s Eve is probably the worst holiday of them all. If you’re in a couple, it seems you’re destined for a New Year’s Eve with your significant others, maybe a few friends, and maybe a board game (which by the way sounds like fun!). But if you’re single, you’re supposed to go to the bar and find someone to kiss for midnight. I know, I know. Everyone says you’re just supposed to go out and have fun. And that’s how it starts out! You’re donning your little 2012 hat, you’re definitely rocking metallic accessories, and you’re with your girls (even though your numbers are limited as your single girl crowd is depleting). And you’re drinking. Oh boy are you drinking. It’s New Year’s Eve, right? Another pint please! And ya, mix that shit up with some champagne!

The point is this. No matter how much fun you are having on New Year’s Eve at 11:01 you realize…..there are 59 minutes to midnight. And in 59 minutes you need to find some cutie to smooch. Last year I had my pick. But guess what? I don’t remember the count down. Not one second of it. I remember before the countdown. And I remember after the countdown. I don’t even know if I got a smooch at midnight.

So this year I know exactly what I’m doing on New Year’s Eve. Cozying up in my pyjamas, reading a good book and thinking about all the wonderful things I’m going to accomplish in 2012. No kiss required.

2 thoughts on “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?

  1. Life is too short! I am going to wear something inappropriately short and sparkly and you will wear that giant bow on the top of your head and we will go somewhere FUN! We can even go out for lovely dinner if you aren’t up the midnight countdown.

    You are not staying in. Opportunity doesn’t happen when you are inside your house in your jammies! lol

Leave a Reply

