Link Love


{image via Giant Dwarf on Etsy}

Happy Friday to you! What’s on the agenda for the weekend? I’ve got my bookclub tomorrow. I didn’t read Escape. I tried! Oh how I tried to get into it. I gave it 50 pages and then realized….I am not enjoying this book and would much rather be reading Lady Chatterley’s Lover right now. So I stopped reading it.

What the hell will I have to offer at bookclub? Two things. First, Escape is about a woman who escapes a polygamist marriage. Married to a 50something man when she was a teen, Carolyn Jessop escaped with her eight children in tow in her early 30s.  Interesting story! But the writing style irked me. So I watched Big Love instead which is an HBO series on a polygamist family. Before I knew it, I’d watched all four seasons. And now I’m hooked. So I’m going to try to get everyone else in the club hooked to. Secondly, I made muffins. “I’m sorry I didn’t read the book! Here eat a muffin!!!!” Do you think it will smooth things over with the crew?

After bookclub is done, my sister and I are going to have a sleepover. We might head out for dinner too. I’m pretty excited about our sleepover since it might be one of the last ones before her baby bump turns into a baby. I love sleepovers with Bec. We’ve had them since I was a teen, when she’d come home for the weekend from Queen’s. On Sunday, I’m hanging out with my parents. I feel like I haven’t done that in forever.

But for now, it’s Friday and the weekend is so close I can almost taste it. How will we get through before we’re off? With a little link love:

  1. Did you know that Canucks will soon be able to order from H&M online? Brilliant news for all those cities still waiting to get one in their neck of the woods. Ahem, H&M, figure it out and come to Ottawa. We need a little zing.
  2. I haven’t had the chance to browse through it yet, but the new Rue is out! Awesome weekend reading!
  3. And did you hear about Matchbook Magazine? It’s so cute! I’m already addicted!
  4. Check out this mabona origami! I honestly thought the fish was real. I’m blonde but geez that was a shocker! {via Little White Whale}
  5. I have decided that if I was ever to get a tattoo, it’d most definitely be designed by Betsy Dunlap.
2 thoughts on “Link Love

  1. Those muffins were delicious April!
    And, to be honest,by reading 50 pages of Escape, you pretty much know the entire story (the irksomeness of Jessop’s writing would have grown worse and you would have been subjected to many repetitious descriptions of events).
    p.s. I would like to borrow Big Love.

    • I’m so glad you liked them! I wish I had Big Love to lend! I rented the seasons. But trust me, they’re addictive. 🙂 In a good way.

Leave a Reply

