Between the Lines: I Remember Nothing

The Dust Jacket: Ephron writes about falling hard for a way of life (“Journalism: A Love Story”) and about breaking up even harder with the men in her life (“The D Word”); lists “Twenty-five Things People Have a Shocking Capacity to Be Surprised by Over and Over Again” (“There is no explaining the stock market but people try”; “You can never know the truth of anyone’s marriage, including your own”; “Cary Grant was Jewish”; “Men cheat”); reveals the alarming evolution, a decade after she wrote and directed You’ve Got Mail, of her relationship with her in-box (“The Six Stages of E-Mail”); and asks the age-old question, which came first, the chicken soup or the cold? All the while, she gives candid, edgy voice to everything women who have reached a certain age have been thinking . . . but rarely acknowledging.

My Take: While I was reading I Remember Nothing, I changed my facebook status to, “April Overall idolizes Nora Ephron.” That’s how much I liked this book. That’s how much I adore Nora Ephron. If you’re not familiar with her, she’s the mastermind behind When Harry Met Sally, Julie & Julia and Sleepless in Seattle. And yes, I think “mastermind” is the perfect word. Nora has a way of sharing her rose coloured glasses with her readers (and viewers). She immortalizes loved ones with dogwood trees and bread and butter pudding. She makes us laugh and read bits of her writing out loud because when you read Nora you want to share the love. My favourite story of the bunch was “My Life as an Heiress.” Enjoy! But try not to read the whole book all in one night like I did. Savor it!

Perfect For: When you’re feeling in the dumps. When you’re feeling happy. When you’re feeling peckish (Nora’s a foodie!).

Leave a Reply

