Skeered

When I was little, my Poppy took my sister and I to the playground every Sunday. We’d race there on our bikes, play hopscotch and climb the giant wooden structures, only to get to …. the slide. Poppy was skeered (that’s Poppy slang for scared) of slides. He’d stand at the top of it with his knees knocking, pouting his lips and whimpering. We always forced him to get on with it and coax him down.  And the minute his feet hit the sand, he’d rush off with a big grin on his face.  It reminds me that the things we think are skeery aren’t really all  that bad once you face them. Today would have been my Poppy’s birthday.  Thanks, Poppy, for the reminder.

{via Rachel B. Blog}

2 thoughts on “Skeered

Leave a Reply

