Between the Lines: The Secret Garden

I think I mentioned before how I’ve been cozying up in bed every night listening to audiobooks. The latest? The Secret Garden. Do you remember reading that book as a kid? I never read it back then so I thought it was about time to catch up on my children’s lit.

The Dust Jacket: When orphaned Mary Lennox, lonely and sad, comes to live at her uncle’s great house on the Yorkshire moors, she finds it full of secrets. At night, she hears the sound of crying down one of the long corridors. Outside, she meets Dickon, a magical boy who can charm and talk to animals. Then, one day, with the help of a friendly robin, Mary discovers the most mysterious wonder of all − a secret garden, walled and locked, which has been completely forgotten for years and years. Is everything in the graden dead, or can Mary bring it back to life?

My Take: Magical. This book made me want to go to bed early. It’s chock full of renewal, awakening and whimsy. I wish I’d read it as a child, but then again, that’s what kids are for. Can’t wait to be an Auntie one day so I can read it all over again!

Perfect For: The nature enthusiast. Seriously. If you don’t like hearing about robins at length, don’t pick it up.

{Apartment Therapy, Absolutely Beautiful Things, Vogue}

One thought on “Between the Lines: The Secret Garden

Leave a Reply

