Between the Lines: Her Fearful Symmetry

I’m very bad at taking advice. When someone gives it to me, I sit there and nod, trying to conceal my discomfort while getting more and more tense by the minute. It’ll probably be my tragic flaw in life. This is especially true of book suggestions.

I think I may be a book snob. I wish I could like every book recommended to me, but I don’t. Sometimes I hate them. Sometimes I find myself judging the people who’d suggested the books in the first place. How horrible! I should know better! The arts are subjective!

However, there are a few people I always count on for good book suggestions. One of them is Megan. Megan’s a dear colleague of mine (and a beautiful writer) who always steers me towards amazing books. She introduced me to my favourite book, Come Thou Tortoise, and a couple of weeks ago she suggested I read Her Fearful Symmetry. Thanks Meg!

The Dust Jacket: Julia and Valentina Poole are normal American teenagers – normal, at least, for identical “mirror” twins who have no interest in college or jobs or possibly anything outside their cozy suburban home. But everything changes when they receive notice that an aunt whom they didn’t know existed has died and left them her amazing flat in a building by Highgate Cemetery in London. They feel that at last their own lives can begin … but they have no idea that they’ve been summoned into a tangle of fraying lives, from the OCD-suffering crossword setter who lives above them to their aunt’s mysterious and elusive lover who lives below them, and even to their aunt herself, who never got over her estrangement from the mother of the girls – her own twin – and who can’t even seem to quite leave her flat….

My Take: This book was weird. Weird in all the good ways weird can be. Every single character in this book is eccentric and as a result they all have dysfunctional relationships with each other (sometimes bordering on incestuous). The twins are too close for comfort. The men that love them seem to be unable to distinguish between individuals. I found myself saying “Ew!”, “Don’t do that!” “No they didn’t!” aloud while reading it. I was originally looking for this book to scare the daylights out of me, but it was more odd than eerie. There are plenty of unexpected twists and turns. Enjoy the ride!

Perfect For: Your summer mystery fix.

2 thoughts on “Between the Lines: Her Fearful Symmetry

  1. I thought the same thing April!! I still haven’t read his first book – The Time Travellers Wife. Let me know what you think if you read it!

Leave a Reply

