Happy-Go-Lucky: To Market, To Market

This is the view from my front stoop. I love to sit out with an iced coffee and get some good reading in. It feels like heaven. At the start of summer, I couldn’t wait to head to the market (I’m lucky enough to have one planted right around the corner from me) to pick out pretty flowers and plants. But my window box was looking pretty sparse. Ok…it looked sparse because a few of the plants didn’t make it thanks to my “green thumb”. So I was thrilled when I went to pick up some fresh herbs and veggies and found these babies.

Basil! And the vendor (who got cuter by the minute) gave me four basil and two mint plants for $2. Score! I’ve always wanted to grow fresh herbs myself. It’s day two and thus far, they’ve survived.

And I’m sure glad they have. What could be more summery than a tomato and basil sandwich?

Leave a Reply

