Wild Swans

Every season, one of the members of the bookclub I belong to chooses a new women’s biography to read.  It’s always so exciting to pick up that new book and dive in. Sometimes you hate the women, sometimes you love them. But it always has an impact on you in some way. I’ve learned so much about different cultures.

My sister chose Wild Swans for our spring read. It follows three generations of Chinese women during the birth of communism. I feel so incredibly Western in my understanding of history. I never knew why communism came to be in China. I knew nothing about Mao. And then Wild Swans waltzed into my life and changed all that. It made a huge impression on me. I actually felt stifled and muffled as I read the story. I’ve never felt more grateful for living as a woman in Canada. I say what is on my mind. I do what I want. I express whatever emotion I’m feeling. I wear what I want. I can read anything I like. I’m free. So if you’re looking for a book to open your eyes to a different way of life, or if you’re looking to learn more about world history, pick up this one.

Leave a Reply

