summer garden pasta

I made this Summer Garden Pasta from Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa at Home. So yummy! Be prepared to eat a lot of pasta – it makes enough to feed a small army (it serves 6)!

IMG_1455

Summer Garden Pasta

4 pints cherry tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons minced garlic (6 cloves)
18 large basil leaves, julienned, plus extra for serving
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 pound dried angel hair pasta
1 1/2 cups freshly grated Parmesan cheese

IMG_1445

Combine cherry tomatoes, olive oil, garlic, basil, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and set aside at room temperature for approximately 4 hours. I left it for more like 8 or 9 hours.

IMG_1452

Bring a large pot of water with a splash of olive oil and 2 tablespoons of salt to a boil and then add the pasta. Cook al dente and drain the pasta. Add to the bowl with the cherry tomatoes. Add the cheese and some extra fresh basil leaves and toss well. Dig in!

4 thoughts on “summer garden pasta

  1. The cherry tomatoes are awesome right now! I’m not sure what got me on this cooking kick lately – maybe Julie and Julia? But I’m loving it!

  2. I made this for my family this weekend and EVERYONE loved it! Even the carnivores gobbled it up. I used nothing but fresh ingredients from my back yard so there was a lot of great flavors. I used sugar plum tomatos instead of cherry so it added some sweetness. Yum!

Leave a Reply

