cream of fresh tomato soup

The temperature has begun to dip in Ottawa. It’s not quite cool but there’s no mistaking the chill in the air. I feel a little guilty for not enjoying summer more. And so I’m resolved to thoroughly enjoy fall. Candlelight, a new fall coat and warm, comforting meals are in order! First up is Ina Garten’s Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup from her cookbook Barefoot Contessa: Back to Basics.

IMG_1434

Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 1/2 cups chopped red onions (2 onions)
2 carrots, unpeeled and chopped
1 tablespoon minced garlic (3 cloves) – I used 4
5 large tomatoes, coarsely chopped
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1 tablespoon tomato paste – I used 2
1/4 cup packed chopped fresh basil leaves
3 cups chicken stock – I used vegetable broth instead and used 3 1/2 cups
1 tablespoon salt
2 tablespoons freshly ground black pepper
3/4 heavy cream
Julienned fresh basil leaves, for garnish

IMG_1419

Heat the olive oil in a large, pot over medium-low heat. Add the onions and carrots and saute for about 10 minutes, until very tender. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute.

IMG_1426

Add the tomatoes, sugar, tomato paste, basil, chicken stock, salt, and pepper and stir will. Bring the soup to a boil, lower the heat, and simmer, uncovered, for 30 to 40 minutes, until the tomatoes are very tender.

IMG_1433

Add the cream to the soup and process it through a food mill into a bowl, discarding only the dry pulp that’s left. I personally just pureed the soup in a food processor. Then reheat the soup over low heat just until hot and serve with julienned basil leaves.

Of course I couldn’t leave Libby out. She partook in some grub of her own.

IMG_1425

2 thoughts on “cream of fresh tomato soup

  1. How come Libby only gets a dog cookie?
    I can just picture her with that big bowl of pasta.
    Wonder who would be at the other end of the noodle…

  2. Wow this looks amazing, I love fresh tomato soup! I’m a big soup fan and make so much during the winter months, but I’ve never actually made just fresh tomato soup before (well, gazpacho in the summer, but it’s a bit different). This looks like a great recipe, I like that it has so much fresh basil..my fave herb!
    I might make this and roast the plum tomatoes I just bought, just to give them that extra flavour. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I can’t wait to try it…

    your dog looks unimpressed you’re only offering the little snack heehee Looks like she’s saying ‘um hello, what about MY bowl of soup?’ lol
    she’s a very sweet looking dog!

Leave a Reply

