frighteningly familiar

When I was a kid, there was a particular art piece in my house that scared me. It sat in the family room on top of a speaker and I used to avoid it at all costs, opting to blast my Janet Jackson cds in my bedroom instead. In all fairness, it just looked like a screaming man to me. A screaming, scary man. I wondered why my dad would make such a thing – such a dark piece for such a positive guy.

It was only a couple of years ago that I finally told my dad how much the piece scared me. Apparently, I was dead wrong. The man wasn’t screaming at all. He’s singing. I’m happy to say that it’s officially my favourite piece of art, and probably my favourite thing.

img_0907.jpgimg_0908.jpgimg_0909.jpg

One thought on “frighteningly familiar

  1. whoa! I’d be pretty scared of that piece of art too.. good to know it’s singing.. I see what you mean by thinking its screaming.. It looks like it’s in pain.

Leave a Reply

