500 Dogs Rescued from a Puppy Mill in Shawville, Que

This past Friday, over 500 dogs were rescued from a puppy mill in Shawville, Quebec. As you can probably guess, they weren’t in great shape. Dogs are such gentle hearted creatures. And those hearts need a little love right now. If you live in the Ottawa/Outaouais region, please do what you can. The Humane Society needs the following items to help the influx of all these dogs:

  • dog bowls (mostly large and extra large)
  • kongs (please refrain from donating toys because it’s too difficult to monitor so many dogs who may chew/swallow pieces of less sturdy ones)
  • paper towels
  • garbage bags (large and x-large)
  • bleach
  • newspapers
  • bottled water or cans of pop (for the volunteers)
  • gift cards for Walmart (this is where they are buying supplies from)
  • cash
They’ve got a few places where you can drop them off:

Critter Jungle
Ottawa Canine School
Berry’s Pet Foods
Rainbow Doggie Daycare
Masters ‘n Dogs
The Dog House
Wag Pet Shop
Almonte Pet Value

Here’s a video on the rescue (don’t worry it’s not graphic):
6 thoughts on “500 Dogs Rescued from a Puppy Mill in Shawville, Que

  1. Where can you go to adopt a dog from this rescue, I am a senior looking for a companion for myself & Teesha (Yorkie) Teesha lost her best friend Misty of Old age 15 yrs old that I had to put her to sleep. And Teesha & I miss her so much, I would like to add to our family, Where do I go to rescue one of there dogs who needs love from Teesha and I??

    And at what cost would it be?

    Appreciate if you can let me know what site to go to see what cutie is ready for our home?

    Diana & Teesha

    • Hi Diana,

      I’m so sorry for the loss of Misty. That must have been really rough for you and Teesha. Right now it looks like Quebec’s Agriculture and Fisheries Department are keeping the dogs for a while. Because it’s a criminal case, a judge will decide if the dogs will be returned to their owner or put up for adoption. They’ll likely be adopted out but it’ll take some time to socialize.them since they’ve been confined for so long.

      I don’t know if you want to wait until one of the dogs are availalbe or if you want to look for another dog who needs a home, but this is a great place to start: http://www.petfinder.com/index.html

      Good luck! It’s so great that you’re looking at getting a rescue dog!
      April

  2. Finally Paws R Us has been busted for their in-humane and abusive ways! My mom volunteered at the Western Quebec SPCA for a few years and told me that they tried so hard to get the law/police involved in arresting the owners of that puppy mill. The director of the WQ SPCA would go there monthly and buy a dog to save it, heal it and then find an adoptive family for it.

    • I know. It’s so very sad. I find it abhorant that in response to the raid the owner replied she was sad to lose her business. She mustn’t have been in her right mind. I’m so glad that those pups were rescued! I’m collecting items from my colleagues at work for the dogs and will be dropping them off at one of the drop off points. I wish there was more I could do.

  3. I got my Bullmastiff there years ago and it was horrible. I convinced my friend to buy one as well just to get it out of there. When I brought him home I had to pay $1000 dollars to fix him up cuz he was so sick. I reported it to my local Vet in town and she said yes ive heard about it before and theres nothing we can do, we’ve tried everything. I rold many Vets and got the same from all of them. Thank god there shut down.

  4. What I would like to know is if there is a web site where we can see pictures of the 500 dogs rescued from Shawville. I would like to adopt a Pug Carlin but I don’t want it too old, so if there is a site to see pictures of the dogs….then I would look and see if there is one that I would like…..if yes, and if the wait is not too too long then I will wait. If it will take too long or if I don’t see one that I would like, than I will know to look elsewhere. thanks

Leave a Reply

